Board of Directors

Our 2016-2017 CIIPS Board of Directors

Darrell Evans – President
Executive Director (Volunteer)
Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies Society

Darrell EvansIn 1990, Darrell Evans initiated a movement to get a freedom of information and protection of privacy act passed in British Columbia. This campaign eventually led to the creation and of the non-profit BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association (FIPA) in January 1991. Darrell led FIPA until December 2010. BC’s Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (“FOIPP act”) was accomplished in 1992. Darrell then worked with Alberta residents to successfully get an Alberta FOIPP act modeled on BC’s act passed in 1994. Darrell conceived of CIIPS and continues to play a leading role in its launch. Darrell was awarded Grace-Pepin Access to Information Award for 2012, the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012 for advancing access to information and privacy rights in Canada, and the Keith Sacre Library Champion Award  for 2012.


Lindsey Bertrand – Vice President
Media and Publications Specialist
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives – BC Office

Screen shot 2015-01-16 at 10.17.48 PMLindsey Bertrand is a communications professional specializing in public engagement in complex issues. She is particularly drawn to projects that have the potential to create meaningful structural change, and believes strongly that open discourse and access to information are crucial for individuals and communities. Lindsey is an MA candidate at Royal Roads University, and has held roles at the BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association (FIPA), OpenMedia, and Rick Hansen Wheels In Motion, and has collaborated on projects such as The Most Amazing Online Organizing Guide Ever and Reimagine CBC. She has written and spoken extensively about a number of communications issues, including net neutrality, concentration of ownership, the digital divide, and, most significantly, privacy and access to information.


Stuart MacInnes, CA – Treasurer
Director of Finance
RF Binnie & Associates & CIIPS Treasurer

Stuart MacInnesStuart MacInnes, CA is the Treasurer of CIIPS for 2014-15. Stuart is a specialist in advanced management information systems and has worked as an independent accounting consultant, as well as Vice-President of Finance and Comptroller for various corporations. Before volunteering to help build CIIPS, Stuart was Director of Finance at the Fraser Institute think-tank, where among other things he oversaw budget strategies and forecasts, and expenditure control. He has also served as director for First Impressions Theatre, Automotive Retailers Association, Royal Life Saving Society of BC, and as a coach for the Port Coquitlam Minor Softball Association.


Mike Larsen – Secretary
Instructor, Criminology
Kwantlen Polytechnic University

MikeLarsenMike Larsen is a faculty member of the Criminology Department at Kwantlen Polytechnic University, where he chairs the Criminology Honours Program Committee and teaches courses on criminal justice, criminological theory, law & society, policing and police accountability, surveillance, and transparency. His research deals with Canadian national security practices, particularly as they involve the deprivation of liberty and contestations around government secrecy, public accountability, and the right to know. He serves on Board of Directors of the Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies (CIIPS) and is a Director of the BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association (BC FIPA).

Mike’s publications include Access In the Academy: Bringing FOI and ATI to Academic Research (BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association, 2013) and the edited volume Brokering Access: Power, Politics, and Freedom of Information Process in Canada (Co-edited with Kevin Walby, UBC Press, 2012).


Cindy Brice
Corporate Director, Information Access and Privacy
Provincial Health Services Authority 

CindyBriceCindy has over thirty years of experience working in BC’s health sector. For eighteen years she has assisted health care organizations with compliance of BC’s Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.  Cindy is a certified member of the International Association of Privacy Professionals and the Canadian Health Information Management Association.  Cindy looks forward to serving on the Board this year.


Kris Constable

Kris Constable is a former global security expert for a multinational telecommunications company and the founder in 2005 of PrivaSecTech, a consulting firm offering technical advice in the areas of privacy and security throughout Canada. Kris has advised multiple privacy-forward organizations in Canada, including the Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic (CIPPIC), BC Civil Liberties Association (BCCLA) and the Office of the Information and Privacy Commission of British Columbia. Kris’s involvement in the privacy community has led to speaking engagements at dozens of conferences in North America and internationally. He is passionate about privacy and security education and is a frequent contributor to multiple blogs and other online publications.


Tom Crean
Kearney Funeral Services

Since 1978, Tom Crean has served as president of his family’s third-generation funeral home, Kearney Funeral Services. In addition to his volunteer work in groups serving his business sector, Tom has been a board member of key organizations involved in public education, civil liberties, and information and privacy. He is a board member of the BC Association for Media Education, and is treasurer of the BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association (FIPA). Tom has a passion for educating students and the general public about information and privacy issues.



Sinziana M Gutiu, JD
Policy Analyst, Bar­ris­ter and Solicitor

Sinziana M GutiuSinziana Gutiu currently works as a Policy Analyst with the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of British Columbia. Sinziana practised law at international and national law firms in the areas of cyber liability, professional liability, insurance defence and construction law. She is an Executive Member of the BC Cana­dian Bar Association’s Freedom of Information and Privacy Section, and enjoys presenting and writing about privacy and FOI, robot­ics, and technology law.





Past Board Members

Charlotte Kingston
Communications & Engagement Director
BC Civil Liberties Association (BCCLA)

Gareth Kirkby
Communications & Community Director
Canadian Institute for Information and Privacy Studies Society


Our Establishing Board of Directors

In 2005, the fol­low­ing peo­ple applied to incorporate the Cana­dian Insti­tute for Information and Pri­vacy Stud­ies Soci­ety (CIIPSS) with Indus­try Canada and pur­sued our char­i­ta­ble registration. They became the Society’s Establishing Board of Directors.

Professor Andrew Clement
Faculty of Information Studies, University of Toronto

Dr Ian Scott Cornell
Cornell Director of Surgical Pathology, Royal Columbian Hospital,
New Westminster, BC

Darrell Evans
Former Executive Director, BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association (1991-2011)

Gerald Fahey
Barrister & Solicitor, Macdonald Fahey

Janina M Kon
President, Streamline Counsel Inc, Law Corp.
Adjunct Professor, Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia

Stephanie Perrin
President, Digital Discretion Inc

Thomas B Riley
Executive Director, Commonwealth Centre for Electronic Governance

Richard S Rosenberg
Professor Emeritus, Department of Computer Science, University of British Columbia

Valerie Steeves
Associate Professor, Department of Criminology, University of Ottawa